Reflections III (Nora)

It seems as though we’ve reached the omnious “dry spot” during rehearsals. In my experience, the dynamic of  theater group changes during the time spent together, and right now, with all the excitment from first two weeks, when everything’s new and strange, gone, and everyone realizing that it is hard work doing what we’re trying to do, frustration has an easy prey. I’m not bothered by this collective “coming back down to earth”-feeling (in fact, I was waiting for it to come) and I am pretty sure that it will leave and make room for more excitement in a few days time.

Still I realized while having enjoyed a little alone-time in the “country”,  that more and more differences between the way I’m used to work and Cory’s are being exposed, which is exciting and a little scary. As I am used to get all the work done on my own (and by this I mean lights, technical stuff, costumes, music, and of course directing), I am worried that I might come off a little too strong.  However, I’m trying to be open-minded and I enjoy creating new ideas with Cory and the rest and getting into some kind of creative flow. This is actually what keeps me going: The fact that we – together – create something different and new (Wolfgang would say we were creating art *hehe*) and, if there weren’t any obstacles in our way, something would be wrong. In fact, it would be slightly boring without any friction; this is what motivates us, right?

Anyway, rehearsal today was very productive and we made a huge step forward in my play, Who’s afraid of the big bad Wolf, and the stumble through went pretty well.

I know that especially our American actors are having a hard time with my play, as they are challenged to react to whatever German line is thrown at them, although they don’t understand it. This is why I am frantically working on a translation of the latest version of my play. Also, I would appreciate it if you talked to me about what makes rehearsals difficult for you.

Although the co-directing of the plays makes it more difficult to get a proper schedule and it’s hard work for Cory and me to focus on both plays at the same time – especially as they are so different -, I think that this is how we learn most from the project and, at the same time, I’m sure that this is how we can make the most of it, because, now, Cory and I have to tackle thedifferences of our cultures, of our experiences and of our way to work, and, in my opinion, it works really well, so far.

After all, the whole idea is to connect to different theater cultures and create something unique and wonderful. We’re on our way.

Leave a Reply

