Londontown (Mary)

I’m in London. What an adventure it has been. I have seen two plays already (A Doll’s House with Gillian Anderson of Agent Scully notoriety and Waiting for Godot with Ian McKellan and Patrick Stewart). Today, I am seeing Hamlet with Jude Law. Tomorrow, I’ll probably go to the theatre museum. This trip has apparently been all about theatre, and I couldn’t be happier about that.

Five weeks ago, I arrived in Augsburg to begin the experience of a lifetime, and it has been nothing short of that. Yeah, there were times of frustration and unhappiness, but those times were short and so wildly overwhelmed by the joy and pride I feel when looking back on the project. I have met absolutely wonderful people, people who I am sure will be friends for life. I have been through the ups and downs of producing a set of plays. I have sprained my ankle, and I can look back on that fondly. I have had a lot, and I mean a lot, of beer, and I have experienced a slumber party nearly every night. There is obviously so much more to this experience, but right now, I’m finding it difficult to articulate my feelings (especially while sitting in a dimly lit, seedy internet cafe in the basement of a convenience store). Right now, in this moment, I am sure that I would have had it no other way. There were times when I felt otherwise and even loudly spoke so, but to look back on everything, I’ll say it again: I would have had it no other way.

I love you guys.

3 thoughts on “Londontown (Mary)

  1. Actually there is nothing to add but still have the feeling I have to add something. I’m so fucking happy we did this project, that there are no appropriate words to describe it.
    Give London a huge hug MA-RYYYY, cos I miss it – nearly as much as I miss you guys …

    Love Mareike

  2. Hamlet with Jude Law!!! Ohh, I wish I could be with you.
    In fact, I would want to come to London and see you even if you didn’T go to any theater shows at all!

    I miss you!

  3. God, Mary, I’m even more jealous now than I was before: Waiting for Godot with both Ian McKellan and Patrick Stewart? O man, I so would want to see that … and I don’t know what it says about me that I get all excited about those two, while Nora is all “Hamlet with Jude Law” – *facepalm*
    🙂

    I hope, you got back to Pittsburgh all right. Would like to hear from you sometime!
    Hugs!!

Leave a Reply

