First Week in the US (Nora)

After one nightmarish flight experience with Iberia (never ever fly with Iberia!!!) Eva, Vinz and I arrived in NYC at Juli 30,  a day later than we had originally planned and thus missed an entire day in this awsome city. But we made it to the US! In NYC we met Patrick, one of Christina’s and Cory’s great friends and we had a great time. I can’t wait to go back to New York in September and see more of this incredible city.

On August 1 Christina drove us to Troy (us meaning Eva, Vinz, Patrick and me – Cory and Simon took the bus) to see Much ado about nothing. Parag starred in it as Benedick and Charlie, Parag’s and Cory’s roomate, as Don Pedro. They were both really good, and we enjoyed the play very much. I was astounded how playful and energetic the production was, and how much fun all the actors seem to have on stage. It seemed almost unprofessional – in the German sense – to have so much fun as a paid actor…

We stayed another day in Troy, then drove up to Ithaca and vistited Melanie Dreyer, whom Eva, Vinz and I had met last year in Germany, and who is partly responsible for this great project, because she had introduced me to Cory and Christina and it had been her idea to do the intercultural German-American-theater-project in 2008.  Simon felt just as much at home in her beautiful house, as the rest of us did, even though he didn’t know her. The two days at Mel’s were very relaxing and we enjoyed talking to her about the project very much.

Then we finally found our way to Pittsburgh. Well, Christina did all the driving – the poor thing – while we enjoyed being childish on our roadtrip. We stopped at Wendy’s and Vinz tasted the most awful Buffalo Wings ever while Simon and I enjoyed a huge cup of chocolate milkshake. When we got to Pittsburgh, it was already dark and we felt like we had been on a huge rollercoaster for far too long. Parag and Charlie greeted us warmly and a tired Christina drove Eva and Simon to Mary’s.

Cory, Charlie and Parag live in Squirrel Hill, a charming part of Pittsburgh twenty minutes away from the Cathedral of learning. When we vistited it the next morning, Eva and I were on the verge of desperation, because it is soooo big and confusing and we thought we would never find our way around. But it turns out that it’s not so difficult after all.

The day after that we had our first auditions ever. We meaning the Germans. For Eva, Vinz and Simon it was very exciting, because they had to audition with the others and they were really nervous about it. But it turned out to be a lot of fun. I, on the other hand, did what I am good at: I chose the actors for Cory’s play.

Cory, Christina and I had an organisational meeting yesterday night, and there’s a lot to do in the following weeks. We have a Staged Reading, a “Lesen und Lauschen”, a 24hour theater-project, and lots and lots of rehearsals.

On Friday (which is today) Cory, Christina and I met again to keep organizing things and then later this afternoon we had our first production meeting, which went really well. Everyone seems excited about the project and I can’t wait to see what we’re going to do with the two plays this time. As Cory has pointed out, my play has changed quite a bit and the atmosphere is very different to when we staged it in Augsburg. Cory’s play has changed too, and I can’t wait to work with the new cast. There’s one thing I absolutely LOVE here: Stage Managers! Jackie, my stage manager, seems to by a very smart girl, who is eager to work with me on the play. Everything that I’m really bad in (like organizing the rehearsal schedule, knowing where who comes on stage -stage left, stage right, center -, telling people to be quiet, knowing where what probs are, and so on) is done by her. She is like the mastermind, I have been looking for.

I can’t wait for rehearsals to start and I am getting really excited about the project, again.

Leave a Reply

