One day before opening night (Nora)

Today was all about reminiscing. This morning, after the City Council Meeting (This week is officially pronounced YINZERSPIELEN WEEK), I read old entries of the Blog that are to be hung up in the Lobby. Also, Christina and I looked at all the pictures from Augsburg and Pittsburgh. And then Cory and I went to the Playwriting Class, and it was great fun to talk about the whole project again. It made me realize how far we have come and how much we’ve achieved. This whole project has been such an amazing, life changing experience for me and I shouldn’t forget that.

The day before opening night has never been so calm for me. I’m used to do all the work and so it’s a weird experience for me not to do anything, but just to lean back and watch the stage manager do all the organizational things. I don’t know if I like it, though. I like to go crazy before a show – I’m probably like an actor when it comes to that, and it might be because I used to act and direct at the same time, in the past, and the adrenaline rush that comes with acting is something I miss out on, when I’m not on stage.

Also, I’ve  realized again, how German I am and how much trouble I have with delegating responsibilities. I know that this is something that I have learnt here in Pittsburgh, and I am thankful for that. At the same time, I have the feeling that all this delegation makes things a little messy. The set design doesn’t look quite right for me, although Amy, our set designer, did a good job and worked hard on the set; it’s just not how I wanted it. The same thing goes for costumes. My vision of how the play was supposed to look like, had been very different, and maybe it comes down to miscommunication again, but I am pretty sure that I have expressed my wishes in our production meetings. I’m not entirely unhappy with the set, sounds, and costumes. It’s just that I would have done it differently and, if we had more time, if I had seen all the costumes, the set and so on, earlier, I would have wanted to change them again. In Germany, the director is in charge of all this and she/he is the one who gets to decide how loud a sound queue is to be, when the light changes and so on. The light-, set-, costume-designers are to make suggestions, and can articulate ideas, but that’s about it. I kind of like that better. Still, I can’t decide that for sure, because this is the first time I’ve worked with different teams. Maybe it depends on other matters. And maybe I have been too intimidated by all these professional teams, and haven’t told them what I wanted.

Anyway, I am pretty content with the result and, just like the actors, I’m really looking forward to opening night.

Leave a Reply

