Fear of failure.

I love this post from brainpickings.

My brother and I were talking about something similar to this last night. He said that one of his Med School professors said something the other day that really struck him. The professor said something like – I do not know why but your generation has no confidence. And, of course, my brother got a bit upset, he prides himself on confidence.

I could not help but think about 20UNDER40 (20 essays by people under 40), when my brother mentioned this. One of the main things that Edward Clapp discovered – this group/generation (however you want to classify via age) is so insecure.

Why is that?

Why are we all so insecure?

Does this also relate to Michael Kaiser’s blog post on the fact that there are currently no great artists, in his opinion NOT mine.  Are they not there, or are they in hiding?

Are we all too afraid of failing? Did education train us like it is Orwell’s 1984 and now we cannot get up the gumption to do something? Is it because it costs to much to fail – both artistically and financially?

I agree. I feel insecure all the time. I feel like I do not speak up enough. I feel like I do not act on my creative ideas ever.

Why do I not?

I like to ponder, sure – but sometimes it goes from pondering to sitting around doing nothing to frustration at my inability to act.

It is funny. I want to take the next step on a number of projects – but I get wrapped up in so much else. I get wrapped up in the fact that I have no money, I have no time, I have no space, I have no energy, I have no… whatever else I can think up.

I hate that, but I found inspiration in what these greats had to say.

So – How do we/I take a cue from great artists and, take a leap? 

___________________________

Added thoughts.

I recently read this blog post on the TCG What If…

At first thought – I said how wonderful, so true. I do want people to honor my opinion more. I only wish it was written by someone at the top of the organization, someone with a few more years under their belt.

With a few more days of thinking under my belt… I say screw that. Why are we constantly waiting for a gate keeper (reminds me of Joshua Conkel’s blog on playwrights). Do we feel that we need someone with power to give us the okay to move forward, to speak up, to share our thoughts? No. Just do it. This was one of the hardest lessons I first learned in NYC. If you do not speak up, no one is going to ask you for your opinion, you are just going to be lost in the muck.

I have discovered that when you step up to the plate, people start to respect your opinion. Funny thing that is. I mean, of course, you have to sound like you know the lay of the land when you step up to that plate.

2 thoughts on “Fear of failure.

  1. Pingback: Role-breaking « Yinzerspielen

  2. Pingback: Artist and Addict. « Yinzerspielen

Leave a Reply

